So Says Simone

A lifestyle and fashion blog with a little bit of chic, a drop of glamour and a lot of love!

Bah Humbug Birthdays!

Today was my birthday. I hate birthdays. Seriously, I hate my birthday and I am definitely not a fan of my birthday. You would think I would be on top of the world today, glowing in the limelight being queen for the day, I’m not, for me today is just another Wednesday in November.  Other people’s birthdays don’t bother me but mine-I just don’t get it. It’s not like the day is actually different from other days. No one has ever made a big deal about the day I came into the world and my family is definitely not the “celebratory” type.  I have a friend who celebrates her birthday for three weeks. The week before, the week of and the week after. She makes plans with every one of her friends to go out for lunches, dinners, movies etc. She basks in the glory of her birth. I have never been able to do that.  Another friend of mine spends the day with her husband, he takes her out for breakfast, then they go to a spa, do some shopping, dinner and home.  It’s all very foreign to me. I have always felt guilty having people “do” for me. I love doing for my friends and have fun when its their birthdays but somehow it all feels awkward to me.  Today was nice in that my husband let me sleep in, he did my carpools (lucky for me my carpool days fell out on my bday this year! I will have to see if I can arrange that for next year) and he took the kids to swimming lessons which he never does.  Other than that I can’t say it was much  different from any other day. I don’t feel any different, except older which at my age sucks!  I don’t mean to be the Grinch of birthdays but unfortunately I just am. So please forgive me if I forget your birthday or don’t seem to excited for you- as Jerry Seinfeld said best: “it’s not you its me!”

Lots of Love,

Simone

Post script: some of my friends just dropped off a giftcard to Sephora. That’s always something to be cheerful about. I guess it is a different day after all. Here are the balloons that I love and also came today. I have some good friends.

5 comments on “Bah Humbug Birthdays!

  1. allison
    November 14, 2012

    happy birthday and many more. We have to celebrate the good things in life and a birthday is a time for celebration even if its just dinner with family. The problem with all of us is that we put everyone else first and ourselves second. Today you need to put yourself first and celebrate that you are wonderful wife, mother, friend and person. So look in the mirror and say I am great because you are. Feel good about yourself, you deserve it.

  2. so says simone
    November 14, 2012

    Allison, you are 100 percent right. I was just thinking about you today and you have reason for celebrating everyday not just your birthday! It is sad that sometimes we need a reminder to appreciate ourselves and the good things in our lives. I am now going to celebrate with my husband and kids by eating take out (no cooking woohoo) and watching a movie on apple tv. Thinking of you always. xoxo

  3. Rebecca L.
    November 15, 2012

    I totally agree with everything you said (thought I was the only one)!…..although you’re right, a Sephora gift card definitely makes it better. Anyhow, Happy Birthday, er, I mean Happy Un-birthday 🙂 ps. Enjoying your blog

    • so says simone
      November 15, 2012

      So glad to know i am not the only one! Glad you’re enjoying, I ate tons of “birthday food” today, feel free to send me any fitness/health tips as I need them after today. Simone

  4. Yoni
    November 15, 2012

    Simi, sure birthdays are abstract but life is too busy and fast for us to tell all the people in our lives how much we love and appreciate them every day. So we shows one day a year, albeit abstractly, for each person on our lives to tell an show them how much we love and appreciate them every day. Happy Birthday! We love you every day. Accept it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2012 by in birthdays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 308 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

