So Says Simone

A lifestyle and fashion blog with a little bit of chic, a drop of glamour and a lot of love!

Sometimes it’s ok to be green.

Emerald-Green

Last summer I was in H&M just browsing when I saw a really cute summer shirt.  It was a light cotton tunic that for $29 I had no doubts about buying. I just had to choose what color. It came in white-pretty but just another white top, black which after wearing the rest of the year was not what I wanted in the summer and bright emerald-green.  I hesitated (even at 29.99) because I own no clothes in colors-no exaggeration. My closet consists of black, grey, white,  beige and navy.  There are some light pink tops thrown in there for color but no red, purple, hot pink, orange and definitely no green.  Green was for readheads or for people who like color-not for people like me who stick to neutrals and basics. But it was $29.99 what could I possibly lose?  Well of course it became my absolute favorite shirt last summer, compliments poured in every time I wore it and I started to wonder why wasn’t I wearing more green. I started to look for a green dress and more green to add to my wardrobe.  That green shirt is now worn only on special occasions as I am terrified to stain it or g-d forbid rip it and I am counting down the days until next summer when I can start wearing it again!

green

Pantone, Inc. is the authority on color-they are the largest provider of color systems anywhere.   Basically what Pantone says is the color of the year is the color that we the public will see everywhere that year from fashion to interior design to makeup even to cars.  They are what we consider the bible for color.  In December Pantone announced the color for 2013 will be Emerald Green.  Pantone  arrives at its color of the year after months of surveys in almost every industry you can think of.  Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Colour Institute shares this fun fact: “The most abundant hue in nature, the human eye sees more green than any other color.” 

So here is a piece of advice, start buying and wearing this magnificent color now and you will be seen as a trendsetter instead of a trend follower.  Buy a dress or a bag, go for a pair of green shoes  or a green T-shirt and don’t forget about your man-get him a green tie too. If you want start slow with a pair of green earrings but it is definitely our time to GO GREEN!  In a few months it will be everywhere but I don’t think this is a color any of us will ever get sick of, if anything it will teach us that sometimes it truly is ok to be green!

green 1 emeral green2

green jacket emeral muse bag

 

green bracelets

green tie

 

2008 SEMA Toyota Yaris Tailback

 

 

Happy Green Shopping!

xoxo

Simone

 

 

2 comments on “Sometimes it’s ok to be green.

  1. audreysdayout
    January 14, 2013

    I think emerald green is a really nice colour, definitely a refreshing one to pick for this year (I’m so tired of the tangerine shades by now)! But I think it is also a difficult colour to wear, you can either really pull it off or it may not be suitable. I like the pictures you have posted though, Angelina Jolie’s outfit it stunning!

    • so says simone
      January 15, 2013

      I completely agree with everything you said. Tangerine never worked for me and I never would have thought emerald green would have if I hadn’t tried it. Angelina Jolie always wears beautiful classy clothes, she never lets me down in that dept….Thanks so much for your comments. Simone

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2013 by in fashion and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 308 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

