So Says Simone

A lifestyle and fashion blog with a little bit of chic, a drop of glamour and a lot of love!

Baby it’s cold outside!

NYC's Bryant Park ice caked fountain.

NYC’s Bryant Park ice caked fountain.

The other night while I sat freezing thru my third hockey practice/game of the day with my hands glued to my upteenth hot drink, I looked around the arena and noticed that I wasn’t the only one looking like I rolled out of bed 20 mins ago.  I was wearing Lululemon pants and my son’s hooded sweatshirt. Almost all the women there were dressed like me even some of the men.  Lululemons, Uggs and usually a J Crew sweater or whatever  will keep me feeling toasty and warm on top are my winter staples.  Dressing that way feels like being wrapped up in a warm bathrobe and blanket.  Most days between carpools, hockey practice, swimming lessons, grocery shopping I don’t see any need to be in anything but comfortable clothes. Half the days I don’t end up even taking my jacket off so why should  I bother dressing in my nice boots and clothes which no one will even see or will just get ruined from the salt and slush.  Part of the reason I dress that way is because  I find it difficult to look stylish when I’m always cold and wearing so many layers.  I have such respect for those women who on the coldest days of the year when their noses are running, cheeks are bright red and skin is paler than Casper manage not only to put themselves together in more than gym clothes but look fantastic.  I am now on a mission to try to look more fashionable on these cold winter days.  The New York Times Style Section famous street photographer Bill Cunningham published some amazing pictures this past week of real people and how they keep fashionable in the cold.  I haven’t worn matching hat/scarf sets since elementary school or earmuffs for that matter but after seeing how great these women look I think those will be first on my shopping list for next yea

Screen Shot 2013-01-31 at 3.08.55 PMScreen Shot 2013-01-31 at 3.07.27 PMScreen Shot 2013-01-31 at 3.06.42 PM
It was very encouraging to see how these women made the “black puffer” look so great. I have a short and a long puffer but whenever I put them on I assumed I had to wear gym clothes or jeans because of their casual style.  But  I  just didn’t look stylish on those frigid days when I was bundled up looking like the Michelin Man. These women look absolutely stunning with their hats, scarves, earmuffs and puffers.  I see that with the right accessories, makeup and most importantly a smile-parkas can be as fashionable as a classic (but expensive) Burberry coat (which is part of  my winter dream shopping list.)

Screen Shot 2013-01-31 at 3.05.51 PMScreen Shot 2013-01-31 at 3.03.25 PM

Two days ago the weather in Toronto was a balmy 56 degrees Fahrenheit.  Granted the sun wasn’t even shining and we weren’t dressed in shorts but it was one day that we didn’t have to cover every part of our body layer upon layer and fight with our kids to make sure they had everything on from long johns to neck warmers.  For one glorious winter day there were no scarves, hats, gloves, fur-lined boots or Canada Goose(s).Today the temperature dropped back down to 10 degrees but suddenly I’m feeling a little more enthusiastic to put on my hats, scarves and parka!

cold


One comment on “Baby it’s cold outside!

  1. Pingback: Baby, it’s still cold outside…. « So Says Simone

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2013 by in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 308 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

