So Says Simone

A lifestyle and fashion blog with a little bit of chic, a drop of glamour and a lot of love!

Do You or Don’t You?

I do! I am definitely guilty of doing it. I probably do it a minimum  of 4-5 times a week although I have weaned myself  down from  what was 6-7 times  maybe even more.  I know I shouldn’t especially at my age. But so many women do it so why shouldn’t I?  The problem is it feels so good, so right and I just can’t stop myself especially during the long, cold, boring winters. Early in the morning, late at night I just can’t help it.  Monday or Wednesday I don’t discriminate. When I started this post, I was feeling guilty because I did it again today even though I had promised myself over and over I wouldn’t do it anymore.  So I did a search on the internet and was shocked to see what a debate this has been. There are posts from men, women, the New York Times, People, Marie Claire and more all on whether its ok to do or not to do….

No, I am not talking about anything sexual or illegal here, I will save that for another post (or another blog altogether).  All I’m referring to is the wearing of  leggings!  Ha, bet you didn’t think that was coming.  But it’s true.  It’s one of my guilty obsessions. I don’t think that a woman my age should still be wearing leggings, especially out in public.  Most of the time I justify it by running to and from the gym -honestly which is why I do it so often.  Problem is when I stop in between the gym and home to get my nails done, go grocery shopping or do carpool thinking it will just be a few minutes but hours later I am still running around town wearing leggings!!  Now there are certain women I know who are in their 50’s and 60’s who have  unbelievably beautiful shapely legs and still look splendid in leggings but other than wearing them to the gym it still looks a little strange to me-especially seeing these women out for lunch on sunday in the same thing their  teenage grandchildren are wearing.  It’s like mini skirts and doc martens-two fashion items I don’t think are meant for women past a certain age.  The reason so many women wear them is that they are so comfortable and warm ( especially Lululemon’s which  can make any women’s derriere look great) specifically in the winter or the rain, they tuck into boots so easily, can be layered and are most women’s “uniform” for those casual run-around days because they require no thought to your outfit at all!

There are always exceptions to the rule though, especially if your name is Heidi, Cindy, Christy or Angelina or you walk down a runway for a living, chances are you can wear leggings, doc martens and a miniskirt and still look spectacular.

Here are some women who I can’t complain about wearing leggings.  But let me warn you it was a lot easier to find pictures of legging don’ts than do’s:

IMG_0268

Sara Jessica Parker definitely challenges the rule here, of course it helps that her butt is covered and her leggings aren’t skin-tight. Then again, Jessica can wear a polyester sweater with rayon pants and make it look good.

 

Heidi+Klum+Pants+Shorts+Leggings+A6mPgoN-wcKl

 

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 9.38.04 PM

 

 

 

As said by Thisguysworld.wordpress.com  in a great post with a man’s view of leggings:  “ as visually exciting as some silky silhouettes may be, there are some not so flattering outlines that turn eye candy into eye cabbage”.  Here are my examples of why we maybe shouldn’t be wearing them out in public:

 

leggings4Even the ever so popular Kim Kardashian took a lot of slack for wearing these leggings.  There was a lot of criticism sent her way even with a rear end as famous as hers!

olivia-wilde-wears-leggings-as-pantsIf Olivia Wilde doesn’t look good in leggings than chances are the rest of us real people definitely don’t!  I think this is probably the only unattractive picture of Olivia Wilde out there

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 9.39.47 PM

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 9.41.48 PM

And finally, since most leggings are made from the same material as tights, they tend to wear the same way.  I have noticed many women at the gym and on the street who haven’t noticed that the seat of their leggings has more “wear and tear” than the rest of the body.  If you are going to wear leggings, make sure you check your behind so you don’t end up like Paris Hilton below!

parisAs for me, I think I am going to follow in the steps of my Jewish Orthodox friends who don’t wear pants for modesty reasons and throw a skirt on over my leggings next time I do do it!!!

Hope you are staying warm,

xoxo

Simone

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2013 by in fashion.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 308 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

